

900 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 600 Topeka, Kansas 66612-1212 (785) 296-3203

www.ksde.org

Janet Waugh	Melanie Haas	Michelle Dombrosky	Ann E. Mah	Jean Clifford
District 1	District 2	District 3	District 4	District 5
Dr. Deena Horst	Ben Jones	Betty Arnold	Jim Porter	Jim McNiece
District 6	District 7	District 8	District 9	District 10

SUMMARY OF THE AUGUST 2021 STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION MTG

<u>Action</u>

- Accepted recommendations of the Accreditation Review Council to award the status of Accredited to USD 102 Cimarron-Ensign, USD 113 Prairie Hills, USD 233 Olathe, USD 253 Emporia, USD 262 Valley Center, USD 323 Rock Creek, USD 358 Oxford, USD 360 Caldwell, USD 361 Chaparral, USD 363 Holcomb, USD 410 Durham-Hillsboro-Leigh, USD 437 Auburn-Washburn, USD 443 Dodge City and USD 509 South Haven.
- Approved school district expenditure plans and change requests for ESSER II federal COVID-19 relief funds as presented.
- Adopted findings of fact and conclusions of law of the Professional Practices Commission and denied the applications of three individuals.
- Authorized KSDE's Office of General Counsel to approve actionable licensees and applicants within specific parameters.
- Appointed the following individuals to serve three-year terms on the Special Education Advisory Council: Sabrina Rishel, Barney Pontius, Lena Kisner and Michelle Warner.
- Changed the November 2022 State Board meeting dates to the afternoon of Wednesday, Nov. 9 and all day on Thursday, Nov. 10, to avoid conflicting with Election Day on Nov. 8.

Presentations and Discussion Topics

- Student screen time from a whole child perspective, learning that not all screen time is the same.
- Considerations for State Board legislative priorities for the 2022 session.
- Update from the E-Cigarette / Vaping Task Force on education pilot project to aid with cessation.
- Information on the National Council on Teacher Quality ranking sytem.

<u>Recognition</u>

- Kansans Can Best Practice Awards for outstanding practices in Child Nutrition and Wellness Programs in Kansas were presented to USD 320 Wamego, USD 312 Haven, USD 252 Southern Lyon County and Child Care Links, headquartered in Hutchinson.
- Students from Seaman Middle School (USD 345) shared their student performance on the technical ingenuity of Hedy Lamarr. This project was selected by the National Women's History Museum to be featured in a virtual showcase.

<u>Next Meeting</u> – Sept. 14 at the Landon State Office Bldg; Sept. 15 joint meeting with Kansas Board of Regents at the Curtis State Office Building.